

City of Tacoma Citizen Police Advisory Committee Special Meeting Minutes

Monday, June 22, 2020 Zoom Meeting 6:00 p.m.

The CPAC is comprised of Chair Alex Strautman, Vice Chair Stephen Hagberg, and Committee Members Louis Cooper, Kiara Daniels, Krystle Edwards, Dana Coggon, Shayna Raphael, Jennifer Vasilez, Elizabeth Antamimy, and Mary Jill Jackson.

Present: Alex Strautman, Krystle Edwards, Stephen Hagberg, Louis Cooper, Dana Coggon, Elizabeth

Altamimy, Jennifer Vasilez, Shayna Raphael, and Mary Jill Jackson.

Absent: Kiara Daniels

Staff Present: Staff Liaison Bucoda Warren, City Manager's Office; Executive Liaison Tanisha Jumper,

Director of Media and Communications

Staff Absent: Lt. Christopher Karl, Tacoma Police Department (TPD)

Welcome and Introductions

At approximately 6:02 p.m., the regular meeting was called to order and everyone introduced themselves.

Approval of the Agenda

6:03 p.m.: Approval of the agenda for the CPAC special meeting held on June 22, 2020.

MOTION: Vice Chair Hagberg moved to approve agenda for the June 22, 2020, CPAC meeting.

SECONDED BY: CM Cooper

Motion passed

Suspend the Bylaws

6:05 p.m.: Suspend the CPAC bylaws related to public comment to not allow public comment at this special meeting to review sub-committee roles, tasks, and membership.

MOTION: Vice Chair Hagberg moved to suspend their bylaws to forgo public comment at this meeting.

SECONDED BY: CM Cooper

Motion passed

BRIEFING ITEMS

CPAC Sub-committee Structure

At approximately 6:06 p.m., members discussed the purpose of each sub-committee and members chose on which sub-committee(s) they would like to serve. The duty of press inquiries was assigned to Education and Outreach, and Policy and Program was charged with the review of TPD policies related to use of force and complaints. The membership of the subcommittees are as followed:

Data and Trends -- Hagberg, Vasilez, Daniels, Altamimy, Education and Outreach -- Edwards, Coggon, Raphael, Daniels, alt-Hagberg Policy and Program -- Jackson, Cooper, Vasilez, Raphael, alt-Edwards CTRT -- Edwards, Altamimy, Coggon, alt-Jackson,

6:38 p.m.

MOTION: Vice Chair Hagberg moved to accept the new appointments to the sub-committees and

duties.

SECONDED: CM Cooper

Motion passed

PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comment.

ADJOURNMENT

6:40 p.m.

MOTION: CM Cooper

SECONDED: Vice Chair Hagberg

Motion passed

Alexander Strautman, Chair	
Bucoda Warren, Staff Liaison, City Manager's Office	